Dear Mum

A – 10 – tion!

I DIDN’T WRITE THIS POEM. I just stumbled upon it as I was looking for examples of epistle poems (aside from those in the bible) because (yes, you guessed right..) it’s our homework. I liked it the first time I’ve read it, so yeah ~ I’m giving it up to you, and I hope you like it too^^

  

Dear Mum

Remember when the cat clawed my face?
I know I shouldn’t have wrapped her up like a baby,
I was young and I loved that cat so much,
A bit less after she’d made me bleed though!
And that time you went to the fair with me,
On the Gravity Wheel, you went green,
You should have said you were scared,
I know you didn’t want me to miss out.
Those times I used to ‘creep’ in at 3am,
To find you waiting up, with a cup of tea,
You couldn’t sleep until you knew I was in safe.
I feel bad for all the times I didn’t appreciate you,
Didn’t listen, or do as I was told.
That week of silent treatment haunts me now!
I don’t know what I did to deserve you, but I am
Glad I’ve got you and I never want to let you go.
You’ve done so much for me, how will I ever pay you back?
I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to, but as long as you know
I love you dearly and do appreciate you. One day I’ll get the
Chance to pay you back for everything you’ve given me, but it’s
A huge debt to pay – but a debt I am honoured to owe.
Mum, you’re something else. Everyone says their mum is
The best, but you ARE the best and I just want you to know that.

xxxx

Leave a Reply

